Nobody expects to be involved in a car accident, but even the most diligent drivers are not immune to collisions. In fact, the average motorist is involved in a crash once every 18 years. If you've been in a wreck, you may be wondering, do I have to call the police after a car accident in Texas?
As you may already know, the aftermath of a serious wreck is a nerve-racking and stressful time. But it is important that you remain calm because your statements and actions at the scene can have a huge impact on the outcome of your subsequent personal injury claim. Also, there are steps that you are legally required to take after a serious crash or you risk having your driver’s license suspended and facing a fine.
If you were involved in a collision and you’re not sure what to do next, contact Chelsie King Garza, P.C. for a free consultation. Unlike other attorneys who mill out cases without delicacy, Chelsie will give you and your family the personalized attention that you deserve, returning your calls and emails quickly and making herself available to answer your questions after office hours. Call 713-893-8808 to schedule a free initial consultation with a car accident lawyer in Houston.
Do I Have to Call the Police After a Car Accident in Texas?
Pursuant to Texas Transportation Code § 601.004, motor-vehicle operators are required to report any collision that results in an injury, death, or property damage in excess of $1,000. If you call the police, an officer will file this report for you; however, if the police do not investigate the scene, you are required to file this report with the Texas Department of Transportation within 10 days unless you are physically incapable of doing so.
If you fail to file this report, you will be charged with a misdemeanor, and your driver’s license could be suspended at least until the date when you file the report or up to 30 days after the date when you file the report. You could also face a $25 fine.
Importance of Contacting a Car Accident Attorney Right Away
After you have contacted the police, taken photos of the scene, exchanged information with other drivers and eyewitnesses, and visited your doctor for an evaluation, you should consult an experienced car accident lawyer as soon as possible. A seasoned attorney can help you avoid critical mistakes that would derail your claim and ensure your case is as strong as possible before heading into settlement negotiations.
You will most likely be contacted by the at-fault driver’s insurance company or attorney within days of the collision, and any statements you make during a recorded conversation can be used to dispute your claim. Your attorney can handle correspondence with the claims adjuster on your behalf and make sure you are not coerced into making any compromising statements or accepting an unfair payout. Your lawyer can also calculate your damages so your claim includes all potentially recoverable losses and help you gather the evidence needed to prove liability and damages.
Call 713-893-8808 to Speak with a Car Accident Lawyer in Houston
Chelsie King Garza, P.C. is a car accident attorney with more than 16 years of experience in legal practice. If you or someone you love was hurt in a collision, Chelsie will aggressively represent your interests through every step of the proceedings. Call 713-893-8808 or use our Contact Form to schedule a free case evaluation.